Ondo State 2020 governorship election live updates and results

Today, Saturday, October 10, 2020, is the date for the 2020 Ondo State Governorship elections, as fixed by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Ondo State, one of the states in Nigeria’s South-West, became an off-season election state back in 2007 when a tribunal court unseated PDP candidate Chief Olusegun Agagu and declares Dr Raham Segun Mimiko of Labour Party as the rightful winner of that year’s elections.

Map of Ondo State

Here are live updates to the ongoing 2020 Ondo State governorship elections.

Number of political parties contesting – 17, as verified by INEC.

Top candidates:

  • Rotimi Akeredolu, (APC) – Current governor of Ondo State seeking re-election.
  • Eyitayo Jegede (PDP) – Former AG and commissioner of justice in the last administration in Ondo State.
  • Agboola Ajayi – (ZLP) – Current deputy governor of Ondo State.

These three candidates have strong structures in the 18 local government areas of Ondo State.

8 am: Voters checking their names in preparation for accreditation at Unit 3, Ward 3 of Akure South LGA:

8:30 am: Voters queue up at Ogbese, Akure North LGA as they await the commencement of the election. INEC officials are already on ground:

9 am:  Voting has started at Akeredolu’s polling unit:

9:30 am: – EFCC officials monitoring the Ondo governorship election to prevent election corruption:

No social distancing observed at Polling Unit 2, Ward II in Idanre LGA:


PartyCandidateTotal VotesRemark
APCRotimi Akeredolu292,830WINNER
PDPEyitayo Jegede195,791Second
ZLPAgboola Ajayi69,127Third
Share this post with your friends:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.