Anti-Flag – History and Breakup Story

Activist American punk rock band Anti-Flag has disbanded. To the shock of their fans and the general public, Anti-Flag announced they are breaking up on Patreon on July 19, 2023.

The band did not give any explanation as to what led to their decision to disband.

The statement on Patreon read:

Anti-Flag has disbanded. the Patreon has been switched into a mode where it will no longer charge the monthly fee. i will begin to process refunds to all patrons in the coming weeks. once all refunds are processed the patreon page will also be removed.

Sexual assault allegations

A woman named Kristina Sarhadi has accused Anti-Flag’s “lead singer” of sexual assault in an explosive podcast interview. While Sarhadi who revealed she works as a therapist and social worker only mentioned “lead singer” and did not state any names, netizens speculate that she is referring to Anti-Flag’s lead vocalist – Justin Sane.

It is yet unclear if the sexual assault allegations played a part in the band’s disbandment. The podcast can be listened to here.

The podcast which surfaced on the same day as the band’s announcement of their breakup has been trending on different social platforms including Twitter and Reddit and has stirred mixed reactions from fans.

Anti-Flag is yet to address Kristina Sarhadi’s accusations.

History of Anti-Flag

Anti-Flag was an American punk rock band known for their politically charged and socially conscious music. The band was formed in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1988 by Justin Sane (vocals/guitar) and Pat Thetic (drums). Over the years, they have undergone several lineup changes, but Justin Sane and Pat Thetic have remained the core members throughout the band’s existence.

In the early years, Anti-Flag released several independent albums and EPs, including “Die for the Government” in 1996, which gained them a loyal following in the punk community. Their music often addresses issues like war, imperialism, corporate greed, inequality, and social justice.

In 1998, Anti-Flag signed with the label A-F Records and released the album “Their System Doesn’t Work for You,” which continued to solidify their reputation as a politically charged punk band. The following years saw the release of more albums like “A New Kind of Army” (1999) and “Underground Network” (2001), which further expanded their fanbase and brought them international recognition.

In 2003, Anti-Flag signed with a major label, RCA Records, and released the album “The Terror State.” However, they later returned to their independent roots, feeling that the major label environment didn’t align with their principles and DIY ethos.

Throughout the 2000s and 2010s, Anti-Flag continued to release albums and tour extensively, consistently advocating for social justice, and progressive causes, and speaking out against the injustices they saw in the world. Some of their notable albums during this period include “For Blood and Empire” (2006), “The People or the Gun” (2009), and “American Spring” (2015).

Anti-Flag’s music and activism have often intersected, with the band participating in various political events and social movements, including anti-war protests, LGBTQ+ rights campaigns, and environmental causes. They have also been outspoken critics of the US government’s foreign policy and have supported organizations like Amnesty International and Greenpeace.

As a band, Anti-Flag has consistently sought to use their platform to raise awareness about important issues and inspire their fans to get involved in activism and social change. Their music continues to resonate with audiences around the world who share their passion for justice and equality.

Anti-Flag members

The current members of Anti-Flag as of the time of their split were:

  1. Justin Sane (real name: Justin Geever) – Vocals, Guitar
  2. Pat Thetic (real name: Pat Bollinger) – Drums
  3. Chris Barker – Guitar
  4. Chris Head – Guitar

Justin Sane and Pat Thetic have been with the band since its inception in 1988 and have remained the constant driving force behind Anti-Flag’s music and activism.

It’s worth noting that over the years, Anti-Flag has had some lineup changes, with various musicians contributing to the band at different times. However, Justin Sane and Pat Thetic have always been the mainstays and have been instrumental in shaping the band’s sound and message.

Share this post with your friends:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.